You are here
Home > Tennis > Williams ends Indian Wells boycott

Williams ends Indian Wells boycott

Serena Williams

Williams is joint third on the list of all-time women’s Grand Slam champions with 19 major titles

4 February 2015
Last updated at

Serena Williams has ended her boycott of Indian Wells, 14 years after suffering racist abuse at the tournament.

The American will contest the BNP Paribas Open at the Californian resort.

“It’s been difficult to forget spending hours crying in the Indian Wells locker room,” the world number one, 33, said.

Williams beat
Maria Sharapova in the Australian Open final
last month to earn her 19th Grand Slam title.

She won her second Indian Wells title as a teenager in 2001.

The American beat Belgian Kim Clijsters in a final marred by the behaviour of some fans who heckled her and her family, apparently in response to sister Venus withdrawing injured from their semi-final.

In an interview with Time magazine, Williams confirmed her entry in next month’s tournament.

“I’m fortunate to be at a point in my career where I have nothing to prove. I’m still as driven as ever, but I play for the love of the game,” she said.

“It is with that love in mind, and a new understanding of the true meaning of forgiveness, that I will proudly return to Indian Wells in 2015.”

Recommended article: Chomsky: We Are All – Fill in the Blank.
This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service – if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at

BBC Sport – Tennis

Leave a Reply